Board of Governors

The Board of Governors, comprised of ex officio members, faculty representation, student representation, alumni representation, appointed members and observers, is the highest governing body of St. Thomas University. It has the authority to regulate and manage the affairs of the university while adhering to its by-laws and policies.

Consistent with its by-laws, the board holds an annual meeting scheduled on or around Spring Convocation in May and must hold at least three other meetings during the year. In practice, the board meets approximately eight times each year.

From the various representative groups, the board has designated committees that pertain to the overall well-being and functioning of the university. These include committees for Executive, Finance, Investment, Governance, Human Resources, Nominating, Advancement, Government Relations, Senior Administration Compensation Committee, Joint Board-Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees, and Joint Board-Senate Committee on the Growth and Future of St. Thomas University. 

Ex officio

Most Rev. Christian Riesbeck, B.Soc.Sc, STB, MDiv – Founding MemberM. Nauman Farooqi, BSc, MBA, PhD - President and Vice-Chancellor
Kim Fenwick, BSc, MA, PhD – Vice-President (Academic and Research) 


Tammy Augustine, BA, LLB (Oct. 2024)

Stacey Couturier, BA, BEd, CPHR (Oct. 2026) 
Ellen C. Desmond, BA, LLB, MSW, LLM, KC (March 2027)

David Farrar, BA, LLB (May 2024)David Ferguson, BA (Mar. 2025) - Chair
Marlene Floyd, BA (May 2025)
Krista Han, CPA, CA, FEA (Mar. 2025)

Brent Henry, CPA, CA (May 2025)

Daniel McCarthy, BComm, FCPA, DComm (May 2026)

Sister Mary Beth McCurdy, BA, BTh, MA (Dec. 2024)

Graydon Nicholas, BSc, LLB, MSW (Dec. 2024) – Chancellor

Phillippe Ouellette, BA, MA (Sept. 2024)

Daniel Stevenson, BBA, LLB, LLM (Tax) (Oct. 2027)Vaughn Sturgeon, BA, CMA, CPA (Dec. 2027)

Stephen Ward, BA, MA, PhD (May 2026)

Michael Dawson, BA, MA, PhD (Oct. 2024) 
Marcea Ingersoll, BA, BED, MEd, PhD (Oct. 2025)

Robin Vose, BA, MA, MMS, PhD (Oct. 2024) 


Melissa Wah, BA (Oct. 2025)

Stephanie Underhill Tomilson, BA, BEd, MEd (Dec. 2024)



Jonah Simon (April 2024)



James Culligan, BBA, CPA,CGA (Vice-President, Finance and Administration)Jodi Misheal, BA, BEd (Vice-President, Advancement and Alumni Relations)
Stevie-Rae DeMerchant (President, Students’ Union) (April 2024)

Board Member Biographies
Standing Committees By-Laws
An Act to Incorporate St. Thomas CollegeAgreement of Affiliation